Poetry, Revelations

Back to Determination

Working in offices the past 3 years has gotten me nowhere. I have tried to move up the ranks past office assistant and administrative assistant within small companies. It never works out. I was open to taking classes to upgrade my skills and was informed that no such thing would fly. I have aspired to become a narrator or involved in documentary production for years but never had the gall to move forward with such a thing. Now I’m in a program that I love, that pushes me to succeed and I genuinely feel I could get amazing marks in. It’s funny once you realize the career you want, how far you’re willing to go to achieve that goal in the most efficient way possible. Professors and classmates alike have different aspirations but YOU have to know what your desire is out of the program: to succeed and have the career of your dreams. I always dream of petting and videotaping animals in their natural habitats, albeit dangerous or unconventional for someone in the journalism program to strive towards. With a sociology degree and eventually a journalism diploma I believe I can incorporate most societal norms into other wildlife and document the similarities or differences.
Tiger HuntingEmperor PenguinsSpotted HyenaLions
For example, some species, such as spotted hyenas and elephants lead a matriarchal society while lions protect their territory and fight off other males. Male emperor penguins endure freezing cold conditions while mothers venture to fatten up to feed their soon to be born young. I plan to eventually go back to school to get my Master’s in Sociology and a minor degree in Biology so that I truly know every aspect there is about wildlife. I want to venture to Thailand, India and Africa to work on their reservation projects, interacting directly with tigers, monkeys and various other animals. Some may say these are unrealistic goals but they are mine and mine alone. I will not have my dreams dissipated by someone who claims to be “realistic”. I have never been a conventional person…a sheep. I’m rebellious, emotional and passionate about the environment, wildlife and people as a whole. My goals will become a progressive reality beginning this summer. It is said that if you visualize and “Law of Attraction” what you want, it will happen. I have been doing just that and increasingly chanting Nam Myo Ho Renge Kyo to unleash my inner buddha; my inner ability to take control of both the positive and negative in my life and use that to bring about great and beneficial change. And as it begins…I am loving every pain-staking minute of it.
Albino Snake

Standard

Leave a Reply

